yggdrasil – carrier of I

Yggdrasil – The I-carrier

In this part it goes on in a brief introduction to the tree of worlds, the Yggdrasil. Before I start, I like to mention again that in this chapter I don’t always agree with the author’s views. As said before, even though on certain points I get irritated by what I read, on many occasions her way of treating the symbolism does definitely add a lot to the depthening/bigger picture of  creation according to the germanic mythology. Let’s start with a piece from the Edda.

De Vries:

A tree I know standing

Yggdrasil names he,

high and with clear

hail-moist covered

From there comes the dew

falling in the valleys

on the spring of Urd

it stands ever green

I would have chosen a different stanza, but it seems like she chose this one, pure for the romance of the moment. Askr gets translated with Ash, the name of a tree. I personally would bind it to the word As (axis) as well, since it is the big spindle that holds all the worlds together, like a big axis with a pile of wheels on top of eachother. Via this axis, described as stem, u can travel from one world to another – you could see the stem as your spine, and the worlds as the chakras placed on it.  That however, is my personal direct image when aproaching the word. The author, only sees an ash-tree. Let’s move on.

Embla she says, gives more difficulties to define. Not weird. Lindholm and Guerber translate Embla with Olm (I think it’s Elm in English) – also a tree. Other translations turn it into a climbing plant, or wine-stick. I think the climbing plant is the better translation, simply because climbing plants are symbiotic to trees. It feeds from the ash, and climbs from the roots to the crown – in other words, it evolves, travels and nourishes itself from the world axis, the axis mundi. Besides that I see the standing axis/irmin pillar as a phallic symbol, and the plant going around the tree as the – u can guess it, let’s call it Yoni. It represents the lingam. Of course, again, my images and associations. The author just sees an elm-tree.

That man and woman both are created out of trees, and addressed as two different trees, is a nice image, and also fits nice between the division of roles between men and women in  Northern Europe.  What she really means: It fits her deeply rooted concept of Adam and Eve very nicely, which makes it easier for her to keep perceiving her own Christian idea of creation myth as mirrored in the Eddas.

By choosing the wrong association for the feminine and male aspect it removes all sexual content. This working together, the melting or fusing of two different energies, namely the one that is grounded and firm, and the one that is light and able to move freely and rapidly up, and down makes for a perfect mix. The stiff and the fluent, the cold and warm, the hard and the soft. So what it represents, is creation once again, only now woman wrapped around man.

The oak covered in the ever green climbing plant. The Pan wearing his crown of this same plant.  But again, my images.

The ash is the “sacred place”  of the gods she says, that’s where the gods speak right every day. Yes they do meet there everyday, not because it is so sacred, but because it is the most logical place to meet. It is where everything comes together, in a quite literal way. Everything connects with everything at a tree. The under, middle and upper worlds, everything is connected by the stem. Not only for this Yggdrasil, also for the trees outside. Of course we as humans search for the biggest, rarest, or otherwise most special one, but in fact that doesn’t really matter. Different trees, different stages of development, different qualities.  Besides we don’t really need a tree, because in fact we already ARE the trees – the Yggdrasils. But I do like to see it mirrored outside of me as well. And I too love laying under an old big oak, rather then some medium sized random tree that stands amongst his own copies. I like and enjoy mirroring  to the big and mighty, and seek their presence. What came first in that process is debatable haha – but I will move on.

For the “godly beings”, mankind is their workplace. Yes, this is annoying about this author as well. She constantly keeps referring in her book, that all that the gods did, was simply the preparation work for Christ. It goes even further, what we call “gods”, aren’t really gods, because only Christ is god, and Odin plus all the others are more like “Santa’s Little Helpers”.

I am much further in the book reading, then where I am with translating, but she really believes that people weren’t complete and independent until Christ came along. It basically means she thinks that BEFORE the year 0,  we indeed were illiterate depending simple beings, until of course the übergod came. So I am being a good heathen, and turn the other cheek, because of course simply because of a few of her ideas are backward, doesn’t mean everything she spouts is complete nonsense and out of context. But yes, it’s a struggle!

All hierarchical beings are bound to mankind as I-carrier / yggdrasil. This is a nice point to implement these hierarchical being and ask the reader where this stems from. I find the matter interesting, but know nothing about it. I’ll sum the hierarchical beings from highest to lowest in rank, and tell a bit of the one that wrote it down.

First Hierarchy:          Seraphins                    spirits of love

Cherubines                 spirits of harmony

Thrones                       spirits of will

Second Hierarchy:      Kyriotetes                   spirits of wisdom

Dynamis                     spirits of movement

Exusiai                        spirits of form/shape

Third Hierarchy:         Archai                         spirits of personality

Archangeloi                arch angels, sons of fire

Angeloi                       angels, sons of shimmer/twilight

This is the way she speaks of hierarchy’s and what she refers to when mentioning them in the book. Earlier on she talks about how all the “angel-choirs” as a different word for hierarchy’s have worked together in order to create man and earth.  This comes from the Akasha-chronicles, the “world memory”, from which is said that Rudolf Steiner could look into.

These hierarchies worked in service of the WorldWord (Logos), from which everything sprung.  The names for the hierarchies come from Dionysius the Areopagite (a student of Paulus) and would be given on by a handwriting from the fifth century that was written down by someone naming himself Dionysius the Areopagite as well.

Why do I mention this here? Simply because this knowledge speaks to me as well. I see links, I feel a completion of a story that goes further and deeper. The difference is the lack of feeling resistance against this. Because just like me, this looks beyond mine and thine, this does not mention “god” as a being, it does not rival nor take claim. It is simply knowledge, with understanding as it’s goal.  That is why I like the book, but dislike the author. She has knowledge, but has a limited vision, she clings on to Christianity and her version of truth. Whilst the tradition or well she pulls her buckets of knowledge from is purer and un-spotted.

This is probably why this falls in place here. The carrier of I, the yggdrasil, the differences of trees and roots, the loci inside us that makes us own. Our trees had a little collision. I am not religious, I have no dogma in the religious sense. I do put my vision into my words, but all I try to do with my images, is to try and let people see what I see, to give them understanding. To give them a glimpse of a perception with the desire to open their minds, expand their world and give them an opening to enter that spectrum.  All I give is a projection.

The lips of wisdom are closed, except for the ears of understanding, I see in the centre of the page of my book as an answer to my inner struggle to try and let people see. Destiny is a fun thing. Or like Jesus spake: He that can hear, hear!

In that sense, Jesus for many was the first famous man, that truly could be called and I-carrier (Yggdrasil) that brought the word out in a way that became trending topic back then. I understand fully the symbolic value of his person and what he represents etc. Still I find it very disrespectful towards all other people and cultures, to pretend that before it, it wasn’t possible, and didn’t happen. Enough of that, let’s build towards an end.

Yggdrasil has three roots, a stem and a crown of which  the branches stretch over the entire world and reach within the sky. The three roots keep the tree up according to Snorri. In other words: The roots form the basics of the I carrier, and that is why it is important to take a closer look at these roots. Each root leads to it’s own source, but that I will explain in a next article, starting with the source Hvergelmir (the sounding kettle).

I drifted off to left, right and unexpected sides occasionally, but sometimes it is needed to express it when something doesn’t fit your image. Like the crows, we loudly protest when something is out of order.

With kind regards,

SjpielseWolf

Published by

sjpielsewolf

Interested in germanic heathenry, lore, original fairy- and folktales, shamanism and lots of other related worldly stuff. I walk and cycle alot in nature, read, play various instruments etc.

Leave a Reply

